Sunday . May 27 . 2018
Share |
Australia, India, Taiwan get visa-free entry to Indonesia from October
Mimi Hudoyo, Jakarta, September 3, 2015

COME October, Indonesia will grant visa-free entry to 47 more countries, including India, Australia and Taiwan among others, as part of its strategy to lure more tourists to the country.


This addition piles onto the 45 countries currently enjoying the facility, 30 of which were granted last June, bringing the total number to 92.


Announcing the new policy, Rizal Ramli, coordinating minister for maritime affairs, said: “Based on our evaluation, with the implementation of visa-free facility for the 30 countries earlier, arrivals from these countries managed to increase by 15 per cent between June and July. This proves that this is the fastest way to boost arrivals.”


Rizal said the new regulation would be implemented in October to ride on the momentum of the year-end holiday season.


According to minister of tourism Arief Yahya, the growth potential of India, Australia and Taiwan, which contributed one million, 200,000 and 300,000 arrivals respectively, was one of the reasons for including this trio in the latest round of visa exemption.


Print Top Stories
Poor 1 2 3 4 5 Good
No comment for this article.
Email Address:
  Enter the code shown: